Cross Award

Description: The Cross Award was established in honor of the late Major General Richard G. Cross, Jr., USAF (Ret), one of the most highly respected individuals in the field of T&E in the 20th century.  ITEA presents this award to recognize outstanding achievements in the development or administration of T&E education.

Eligibility: ITEA membership is not a requirement for eligibility, but will be considered during the Committee’s selection process. The Cross Award may be awarded to any deserving individual, team, organization, or institution.

Evaluation Criteria: Nominees must have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the field of T&E education by means of accomplishment in one or more of the following areas.

  1. Administration.  Establish a T&E education program in a recognized institution of higher learning, either civilian or military; or administer an existing program with such professional competence as to merit special recognition.
  2. Education. Exhibit exceptional technical competence as an educator on one or more of the academic subject areas in the general field of T&E. Educational efforts that promote T&E as a professional discipline shall be a prime evaluation criterion.
  3. Research.  Develop new theories, concepts, or techniques for use in T&E education. The results should be documented and available for general use.


Past Recipients

1990 Robert J. Warnagieris, PhD

1991 James D. Engel

1992 O. J. “Jud” Strock

1993 Peter H. Sydenham

1994 J. Daniel Stewart, PhD

1995 Fred K. McCoy

1996 National Test Pilot School

1997 Paul A. Alfieri, Thomas Hoivik and William D. West

1998 John D. Claxton

1999 Robert T. Matthews, PhD

2000 Joint Advanced Distributed Simulation Test Force

2001 US Army Aberdeen Test Center

2002 Frank B. Gray, PhD

2003 USAF Test Pilot School

2004 The Test & Evaluation Basic Course Technical Review Committee, Army Test and Evaluation Command

2005 Air Force Institute of Technology/LS, T&E Course Development Team

2006 Larry Leiby

2007 Gerald Garfinkel, PhD

2008 Captain Susan E. Betison

2009 Daniel Telford

2010 Ralph E. Hughart

2011 J. James McCue

2012 Leslie D. Taylor

2013 Matthew T. Reynolds

2014 G. Derrick Hinton

2015 Christopher Cotting, PhD

2016 Craig Nixon

2017 Mark Kiemele, PhD


International Test and Evaluation Association (ITEA) | E-mail: | © 2015 | All Rights Reserved.
4400 Fair Lakes Court, Suite 104, Fairfax, VA 22033-3899 | Phone: 703-631-6220 | Fax: 703-631-6221
See ITEA on Facebook Visit ITEA on LinkIn Web Graphic Design of Warrenton, VA - Hosting and Construction by Moe Technologies (MoeTec)