ITEA Test & Evaluation Professional Awards

ITEA Test & Evaluation Professional Awards

ITEA is proud to honor those that advance the T&E community through their contributions to both the T&E Profession, as well as to the Association. ITEA presents six (6) ITEA T&E Professional Awards which recognize contributions to the T&E Profession, and three (3) ITEA Awards which recognize contributions to the Association. These awards are presented at the ITEA Annual International T&E Symposium. 

On behalf of the ITEA T&E Professional Awards Program Committee Chair, Ms. Stephanie Clewer, ITEA is pleased to announce the 2021 Award Recipients.  



Announcing the Winners of the 2021 T&E Professional Awards  

Join us at the Annual International Test & Evaluation Symposium being held virtually the week of 13 September to meet our 2021 winners! All questions should be sent to

Matthews Award – Dr. Kenneth G. LeSueur

Named after Dr. Allen R. Matthews, founder and first president of ITEA. It is presented to an individual for a lasting, significant contribution to the field of T&E, such as the cumulative effect of a distinguished career. The Allen R. Matthews award is the highest award bestowed by ITEA. The recipient must be a member of ITEA.

Special Achievement Award – Col Glenn A. Rineheart, Commander and the Air Force Operational Test and Evaluation Center, Detachment 5

Given for an exceptional special act of achievement in T&E, such as the solution of a major problem, or a notable project success for which there is evidence that tangible benefits have accrued.

Cross Award – Mr. Ken Miller, Instrumentation Subject Matter Expert and Training Lead, Prototyping Instrumentation and Experimentation (PIE) Dept. Patuxent River

Named after the late Major General Richard G. Cross, Jr., USAF, a highly respected figure in T&E and one of the first directors of ITEA. It is presented to an individual, team, or organization for a significant contribution to education for T&E in teaching, administration, or research.

Publications Award – CDR Donald “Bucket” Costello, USN Chief of Staff, Naval Test Wing – Atlantic 
Recognizes outstanding contributions to test and evaluation literature. Given for a book, technical paper, or article that improves or increases the body of knowledge and understanding of T&E. Published works must be original.

Technical Achievement Award – Dr. Peter Wick, Principal Scientist, Naval Surface Warfare Center, Dahlgren Division

Recognizes an individual or group for outstanding achievement in applying instrumentation, information technology, modeling and simulation, time-space-positioning information, electro-optics technology, or other T&E technology to cause a test and evaluation program to be better, faster, and less expensive.

Dr. Wilson N. Felder, II, Early Career Award – Capt. Lauren Mount, USAF 746th TS Holloman AFB 
The Early T&E Career Award recognizes a young professional who, during his/her first 5 years of practicing in the T&E field, has accomplished a significant achievement(s) which enhances and strengthens the T&E profession.



Special Recognition for Contributions to the Association:

Energizer Award – Ms. Wendy M. Peterson, President Antelope Valley Chapter 
Recognizes “behind the scenes” volunteer contributions that have supported the Test and Evaluation community and/or member organizations.

President’s Award – ELK Management Group
The President’s Award was established in 1996 to give the president of ITEA the prerogative of acknowledging individuals whom he or she deems worthy of recognition.

Board of Directors Award – Mr. Charles “Charlie” Garcia 
The Board of Directors Award, established in 1997, is presented to an individual who has contributed to the growth, development, goals, and mission of the Association.

For more information or if you have any questions concerning the ITEA Awards, please contact:

Stephanie Clewer, Awards Committee Chair

Email:, Phone: (703) 631-6220